International mooting

The 2019/20 Competition

Now in its 9th year, applications are open for the 2019/20 ECC-SAL International Mooting Competition.  The Competition is held at the Supreme Court of Singapore, in conjunction with the Singapore Academy of Law.

The Competition is open to young advocates from Australia, Brunei, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, New Zealand, and South Korea, with fewer than 3 years PQE as at 1 January 2020.

Mooting will take place between 4 and 8 January 2020, with the Final held on 8 January 2020.  The Competition will be based on a single Moot Problem, governed by English law.

For further details on eligibility and registration, please download the ECC-SAL Moot Flyer

If you have any questions about the Competition, please contact one of the members of the Organising Team:


History of the competition

Since 2011/2012, members of Essex Court Chambers have jointly hosted a mooting competition for junior lawyers (with fewer than 3 years’ Post-Qualification Experience) in Singapore, in conjunction with the Singapore Academy of Law.

This prestigious competition gives entrants an unrivalled opportunity to develop and demonstrate their advocacy and legal reasoning skills. It has traditionally attracted entries from teams of the highest calibre, both from Singaporean law firms and other Singaporean legal organisations (including from the Attorney-General’s Chambers and the Justices’ Law Clerks).

The judging panels for the competition in previous years have been composed of eminent members of the Singaporean legal community, including two Attorneys General of Singapore, Mr Sundaresh Menon SC and Mr Steven Chong SC (as they then were), as well as their Honours Justice Quentin Loh, Justice Aedit Abdullah, Justice Vinodh Coomaraswamy and Justice Kannan Ramesh of the Singapore High Court, together with senior practitioners at Essex Court Chambers, including David Foxton QC, Roderick Cordara QC, Jern-Fei Ng QC and Mr Michael Thomas CMG QC (former Attorney-General of Hong Kong).

The past winners of the competition have been:

  • 2018/19 – Rachel Tan Xi’en (CIL Practice Fellow, NUS) and Dana Chang (Wong   Partnership)
  • 2017/18 – Victor Leong (Justices’ Law Clerks) and Joshua Hiew (Allen & Gledhill LLP)
  • 2016/17 – Nicholas Liu and Bethel Chan – Justices’ Law Clerks
  • 2015/16 – Devathas Satianathan and Gek Min Yeo – Justices’ Law Clerks
  • 2014/15 – Raeza Ibrahim & Sadhana Rai – Drew & Napier LLC
  • 2013/14 – Daniel Gaw & Nicholas Poon – Justices’ Law Clerks
  • 2012/13 – Joshua Lim & Keith Han – Justices’ Law Clerks
  • 2011/12 – Pardeep Singh Khosa & Mahesh Rai – Drew & Napier LLP